Read this, please, with an open heart. If you start feeling defensive, take a moment to reflect on why that is before returning to reading. I couldn’t NOT reblog this post, written by Miriam Schacht (RoteZora) re: the suggestion that white activists have been taking over from the indigenous people at the STANDING ROCK protest. It certainly gives food for thought as well as feelings of guilt and shame at being white, American or European … try and put those feelings aside to be dealt with later, and read the full post with an open heart and mind ….

Voices from the Margins

By Miriam Schacht (RoteZora)

I wrote this note while staying at the Two Spirit Nation camp within the Oceti Sakowin camp at Standing Rock about a week ago. I originally drove out there to help someone else out, but without the intention of staying, because I take seriously the critiques that suggest that white activists have been taking over the protests. However, I stayed much longer than I intended because it turned out that there was important work to do as a white accomplice–work that addressed precisely the issue of white activists at these camps and these actions. Part of the necessary work of white accomplices is to lessen the burden on people of color. At camp that meant I was asked by Two Spirit folks to give white visitors “allyship 101” or “Two Spirit 101” lectures; this letter is my attempt to keep that work up, and keep taking…

View original post 2,060 more words

